I’m not doing a conscious new year resolution this year. I’ve never done one anyway, but next year is a good year to continue this vow. Why don’t I take part in the culture of promising to do something that you know by the 4th January you’ll no longer have any intention in doing?

Ahem. I guess that is a pretty good clue as to my feelings towards it. I find new year’s resolution to be like making plans when you’re absolutely drunk. Your intentions are good, and you’ll never be so sure that you’ll success in your endeavours as in that precise moment. But it’s a pretty slim bet that the grand scheme you come up with while pissed, will actually come to fruitation. And it’s a pretty slim bet that you’ll manage to change something in your behaviour just because the numbers you put after the date are going to change.

But I like the new start idea. And with that in mind, I’ve made a new start with my novel. Literally. I’ve rewritten the entire beginning. And I’ve looked on it with a fresh pair of eyes too. It’s okay to get rid of things because they aren’t working. That’s the beauty of the new start. The reason I was having so much issue with it, that everything about it was confusing me so much, was because so much was going on in it. There were characters and potential characters and characters who would be in the quest, and characters coming to battle and,- no. My original plan was to have all of the Roman gods coming to earth to battle for control of it, but that’s going to change. Having a whole human cast and a whole god cast was going to mean a lot of hard work, and how I was going to achieve it without having a million and one characters and how I was actually going to get to that point wasn’t making sense in my head.

So you know what? I scraped it, and I’ve never felt so confident about writing my novel. Now there’s one god coming to earth, and I know exactly where steampunk is, and exactly where the science fiction and fantasy is, and what they need to find on the quest, and who ‘they,’ are going to be. The antagonist now has a reason for actually being an antagonist, and not just being a dick for the sake of being able to laugh sinisterly on occasion. Feel free to read my ‘Carpe Mortem,’ page for the revised description.

And now, I should be off writing my novel. But it’s New Year’s Eve tomorrow, so that new start can wait 48 hours, right? Instead I’m going to plan things out in my head while watching Arrested Development, and so should you be.

Not planning things out, I mean you can if you want, but Arrested Development is an awesome show and you all should be watching it right now.